Mobile Menu

2011 Mentors of the Year

Twenty-two teachers from southwest Idaho public schools who guide, support and encourage fellow educators in their pursuit of effective teaching and professional growth were honored as the 2011 Celebration of Teaching – Mentors of the Year at Boise State University on September 8, 2011. Highlights of the evening included Mentors of the Year getting to meet one another and an inspirational keynote address from Channel 7’s Dee Sarton.

The Celebration of Teaching – Mentors of the Year Awards were presented to the following teachers:

Name District School Subject/Grade Photo Gallery (Click the images for a larger view)
John Bale Boise Riverside Elementary Kindergarten, 6th-grade physical education
Marta Bidondo Meridian Lake Hazel Middle 7th-grade life science
Karen Bliss Blaine Woodside Elementary Kindergarten
Leigha Call Nampa East Valley Middle 7th – 8th-grade social studies
Anna Daley Meridian Mountain View High Language arts
Susan Feldhusen Blaine Wood River Middle 6th-grade special education
Brian Fischer Meridian Eagle Hills Elementary 4th-grade
Eric Grant Meridian Centennial High 9th-12th-grade English
Ted Hadley Twin Falls Robert Stuart Middle 6th-12th-band
Carol Hollifield Twin Falls Robert Stuart Middle 7th-grade geography, history
Hailey Howard Meridian Andrus Elementary 2nd-grade
Laura Joki Meridian Crossroads Middle 7th-8th-grade health, leadership, math intervention
Jean Kriwox Jerome Horizon Elementary 3rd-grade
James LeDoux Meridian Renaissance High 9th, 11th and 12th-grade English
Katie Leonard Meridian Andrus Elementary 1st-grade
Michelle Marquardt Jerome Jerome High 10th and 12th-grade English
Sharon Tennent Boise Owyhee Elementary 2nd-grade
Kassi Tobias Meridian Andrus Elementary 4th-grade
Valerie VanLeeuwen Twin Falls Robert Stuart Middle 7th-grade science
Willean White Emmett Carberry Intermediate 4th-grade
Joyce Williams Boise Owyhee Elementary 4th-grade
Mark Worley Marsing Marsing High 9th-12th-math